About The Old Smiddy
The Old Smiddy (or Smithy) dates back to the 1886 when Alexander McFarlane purchased the land from the Marquess of Breadalbane and sought permission to build a Blacksmiths, stabling and traditional Scottish family home.
His descendants continued as blacksmiths for many years. The building is most fondly remembered when occupied by the Kennedy family. Mrs Kennedy was reknowned for her hospitality, housekeeping and beautiful homebaking. The Old Smiddy operated until the late 1960s. Having been sold on, the building and adjoining house then fell into general dis-repair.
Exploring this great part of The Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park As visitors to Killin for over 10 years, Michael and Lynn Crow saw great potential in the building and location. They set about buying and lovingly restoring it to its former glory. The Old Smiddy Killin now provides high standard Bed & Breakfast accommodation in Killin.
Bed and Breakfast
@ The Riverview Rooms
The Riverview Rooms offers unique bed and breakfast accommodation in Killin, overlooking the famous Falls of Dochart stone bridge and Inchbuie island, with the ancient Clan McNab burial ground and graves dating back to the 16th century.
If your planning a stay in Killin or Perthshire then the Old Smiddy is perfect for a short break or a longer stay.
The family have always valued friendly service in a warm hospitable environment and aim to provide the same for their guests.